STAGE-M, an area community theatre group serving Mecosta County, Michigan and its environs, began at the Old Jail in Big Rapids, Michigan with a meeting of a dozen people September, 1981. These charter members started a wonderful tradition of family involvement in, friendships around, and community support for a love of theatre that has lasted for well over thirty years.

Today STAGE-M boasts a membership of well over 100 families and has presented over 100 productions ranging from dramas by Tennessee Williams and Arthur Miller to comedies by Shakespeare and Neil Simon, and from mysteries by Agatha Christie and Arthur Conan Doyle to wonderful musicals by Cole Porter, Irving Berlin, Rodgers & Hammerstein, Lerner & Loewe, and Kander & Ebb.

During its history, STAGE-M has encouraged those passionate about theatre, has educated the community and its young people through special presentations and workshops, has supported drama in the local schools, and has grown as an entity.

As we celebrate each anniversary, we look back at the wonderful memories, friends, and special nights of magic; and we are mindful of those who have given so much time, energy and talent to get us to this point. Yes, each anniversary is a time for reflection. However it is also a time for regeneration, rebirth, reawakening and a rededication to what lies ahead of us here in the 21st century.

Our mission remains in the name of our organization. STAGE-M: Society for Theatre Arts Growth and Enjoyment in the Mid-Michigan area. We reach out to members of our community to allow them to enjoy theatre and to grow as individuals by participating in it. For those of you who have enjoyed STAGE-M and have said to yourself, “I’ve always wanted to do that,” now is the time to jump in; there is no waiting, immediate seating on the inside, the Best of Times are still ahead!


Society for Theatre Arts Growth & Enjoyment in Mid-Michigan